10 In 100

So just a short while ago I finished my 100th anime, so I thought I’d make a list of my top 10 and why! So without further ado let’s begin.

10: A Certain Magical Index
A Certain Magical Index made into into my top 10 by the bare edges, with poor pacing and some annoying characters along with inconsistent explanations it has too many faults to count. However its second season really fixes a couple of things and as a member of the raildex fandom I couldn’t just ignore it.

9: Angel Beats!
Angel Beats is one of the best anime I’ve ever watched, with a strong story and cast. It doesn’t fall short on audios or visuals either. The only reason it’s so low down in my top 10 is how heavy on the feels it gets, I never want to have to go through that again.

8: Problem Children Are Coming From Another World, Aren’t They?
Problem Children, the No Game No Life lookalike, proved difficult to place. I thoroughly enjoyed this one and picking between it and No Game No Life was too difficult for me to ignore it in favour of the fan favourite so I put it close behind. Aside from the annoying support characters, the mains in this really pull through and make this well worth the watch.

7: No Game No Life
No Game No Life is one of those classic anime, the plot is impeccable and the characters never grow old. Not to mention the fact that it’s all about intelligence and games. It’s lighthearted feeling makes it easy to watch and enjoy, and its one of those anime you wish you could enter.

6: A Certain Scientific Railgun
A Certain Scientific Railgun would under normal circumstances be higher in this list, confirming my raildex fandom status, but it’s something you really have to watch due to its long length. With the best main character of any anime I have ever watched, and a nearly all female cast, it really explores the world its set in. In fact Mikoto is my favourite character of all time. Railgun also lacks the faults that A Certain Magical Index has.

5: Infinite Stratos
Infinite Stratos is one of the first anime I ever watched, though nothing special, will always be in my top five for its amazing comedy and epic fights and beautiful girls. While it lacks in world development and has a holey plot, it doesn’t lack heart.

4: Brynhildr In The Darkness
Brynhildr In The Darkness or, as I shall forever remember it, Gokukoku no Brynhildr is the first manga I ever read. The anime itself is not as good as the manga however the plot is still there. The rushing certainly weakens many points and without a little background reading certain areas remain fuzzy but it doesn’t make it unenjoyable. Including this one, I own the top 4 on DVD/BluRay.

3: Date A Live
Date A Live is here for very much the same reasons as Infinite Stratos, its amazing comedy, epic fights and beautiful girls. Date A Live is one that has a strong and consistent plot but is also relaxed and enjoyable.
Fun Fact: Following the season 2 dub announcement it marks the 6th appearance of the voice actress Brittney Karbowski in this list.

2: Steins;Gate
Steins;Gate is a masterpiece and loses out on top spot due to its heavy and darker tones, it needs to be fully watched to enjoy and as a result is only second place, despite me considering it the best anime of all time. It’s blend of reality and time travel are epic and internally consistent, with only minor loopholes. It doesn’t overextend itself and I can’t play it down.

1: Log Horizon
Log Horizon is by far my favourite to watch in this top 10. As a gamer and all round nerd I love the characters and story. The extensive supporting cast and the relatively evenly distributed screen time leaves much for other anime to learn. This is the world I’d get trapped in if I had the choice.
Fun Fact: My first Comicon cosplay was of Shiroe, and is still currently my favoured cosplay for events.

What do you think? If you disagree with me then be sure to let me know!

Leave a Reply

